The Phillips Collection Master Paintings from the Phillips Collection exhibition catalogue

Master Paintings from the Phillips Collection

Regular price £24.95

The Phillips Collection, America's first museum of modern art, was founded in 1921 by Duncan Phillips (1886-1966), a Washington DC collector who played a vital role in introducing America to contemporary art. 

This book published on the museum's 90th anniversary highlights most of its key paintings by both European and American artists. Besides a museum catalogue, this also makes a great survey of nineteenth and twentieth century painting with outstanding examples of realism, impressionism, cubism, and abstract art. The book opens with three brief essays discussing the museum's founders, Duncan Phillips and his artist wife, Marjorie's collecting philosophy and the artists they championed. Afterwards the works are presented alphabetically by artist with short commentaries. The majority of the beautifully colour photographed reproductions are full page so details can be easily seen.

Master Paintings from The Phillips Collection highlights 108 masterworks from the Phillips's permanent collection. Artworks featured include Renoir's Luncheon of the Boating Party, Henri Matisse's Studio Quai St.Michel, Pablo Picasso's The Blue Room, Honore Daumier's The Uprising, Edward Hopper's Sunday, Edgar Degas' Dancers at the Barre, Jacob Lawrence's Migration Series, Pierre Bonnard's The Open Window and Childe Hassam's Washington Arch, Spring. Paul Cezanne, Georgia O'Keeffe, Vincent van Gogh, Milton Avery, John Sloan, Arthur Dove, and Paul Klee are just a sampling of the other featured painters. 

  • Author: Eliza Rathbone, chief curator, the Phillips Collection and Robert Hughes
  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Date published: January 2012
  • Language: English
  • Delivery: Allow 2-3 weeks for delivery
  • ISBN: 978-1904832928
  • Product Dimensions: 25.9 x 22.1 x 2.2 cm