Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series - the exhibition catalogue from MoMA available to buy at Museum Bookstore

Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series

Regular price £29.95

'Melding modernist form and topical content, the series is both decorative and illustrative, and equally efficient in those fundamental, often opposed functions of painting' - The New Yorker

Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series

In 1941, Jacob Lawrence made a series of sixty small tempera paintings on the Great Migration, the decades-long mass movement of black Americans from the rural South to the urban North that began in 1915–16. The child of migrant parents, Lawrence worked partly from his own experience and partly from long research in his local library. Within months of its completion, the series entered the collections of The Museum of Modern Art, New York, and the Phillips Memorial Gallery (today The Phillips Collection), Washington, D.C., each institution acquiring thirty panels. The Migration Series is now a landmark in the history of modern art.

Published in conjunction with exhibitions at The Museum of Modern Art and at The Phillips Collection, Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series explores the cultural and political debates that shaped Lawrence's art; the acquisition and exhibition history of the Migration Series. as well as eleven newly commission poems. The series is reproduced in full with short texts accompanying each panel exploring Lawrence’s technique and approach. 

  • Author: Leah Dickerman, Curator, Painting and Sculpture, MoMA
  • Hardcover: 148 pages
  • Date published: February 2015
  • Language: English
  • ISBN: 978-0870709647
  • Product Dimensions: 31.5 x 24.9 x 2.3 cm